IIHF OFFICIAL RULE BOOK 2023/24

TABLE OF CONTENTS If an attacking Player establishes a “significant position” within the Goal Crease, so as to obstruct the Goalkeeper’s vision and impair their ability to defend their goal, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed. For this purpose, a Player “establishes a significant position within the crease” when, in the Referee’s judgment, their body, or a substantial portion thereof, is within the Goal Crease for more than an instantaneous period of time. ➔ For more information refer to Appendix IV – Table 16 – Interference on the Goalkeeper Situations. 69.4. CONTACT OUTSIDE THE GOAL CREASE If an attacking Player initiates any "relevant contact" with a Goalkeeper, other than “incidental contact”, while the Goalkeeper is outside their Goal Crease, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed. A Goalkeeper is not “fair game” just because they are outside the Goal Crease. The appropriate penalty should be assessed in every case where an attacking Player makes “unnecessary contact” with the Goalkeeper. However, “incidental contact” will be permitted when the Goalkeeper is in the act of playing the puck outside their Goal Crease provided the attacking Player has made a “reasonable effort” to avoid such unnecessary contact. When a Goalkeeper has played the puck outside of their Goal Crease and is then prevented from returning to their Goal Crease area due to the deliberate actions of an attacking Player, such Player may be penalized for “Goalkeeper interference”. Similarly, the Goalkeeper may be penalized, if by their actions outside of their Goal Crease they deliberately interfere with an attacking Player who is attempting to play the puck or an opponent. ➔ For more information refer to Appendix IV – Table 16 – Interference on the Goalkeeper Situations. 69.5. COACH’S CHALLENGE ➔ Rule 38 – Coach’s Challenge 69.6. FACE-OFF LOCATION Whenever the Referee stops play to disallow a goal as a result of “relevant contact” with the Goalkeeper (incidental or otherwise), the resulting “face-off” shall take place at the nearest Neutral Zone Face-off Spot outside the Attacking Zone of the offending Team. 69.7. REBOUNDS AND LOOSE PUCKS In a rebound situation, or where a Goalkeeper and attacking Player(s) are simultaneously attempting to play a loose puck, whether inside or outside the Goal Crease, “incidental contact” with the Goalkeeper will be permitted, and any goal that is scored as a result thereof will be allowed. In the event a Goalkeeper has been pushed into the net together with the puck by an attacking Player after making a stop, the goal will be disallowed. If applicable, appropriate penalties will be assessed. If, however, in the opinion of the Referee, the attacking Player was pushed or otherwise fouled by a defending Player causing the Goalkeeper to be pushed into the net together with the puck, the goal can be permitted. In the event the puck is under a Player in or around the Goal Crease area (deliberately or otherwise), a goal cannot be scored by pushing this Player together with the puck into the goal. If applicable, the appropriate penalties will be assessed, IIHF OFFICIAL RULE BOOK 2023/24 – SECTION 09 112 OTHER FOULS 09 SECTION · OTHER FOULS

RkJQdWJsaXNoZXIy Mjk0MTY=